Musings of a bon vivant in Hong Kong

Egg tart perfection

1 Comment

I am in love with Tai Cheong’s Egg Tarts. You know which bakery I mean, the one favoured by Chris Patten, the last Governer of Hong Kong, that little unassuming bakery sitting opposite Dymock’s and next to the HSBC branch on Lyndhurst Terrace in Central. I could go there everyday, morning, evening, after a dinner buffet, on the way to lunch, doesn’t matter, there’s always time for a Tai Cheong Egg Tart.

These egg tarts are the best I’ve ever tasted, hands down. I lurveeeeeeee the buttery taste of the pastry, how it flakes in your mouth, the smooth perfection of the egg custard, how the tart is hot when you buy it and steams up the plastic bag they put it in. I especially love wolfing it down outside the bakery on the pavement, I don’t really care who sees me. *Drool*.

J and I paid a visit after our dinner at Tim’s Kitchen and luckily for us we were in time to grab some tarts before the bakery closed for the day. Normally I would eat with a bit more finesse but I was full and fearful that I couldn’t eat all of it before feeling my stomach heave in complaint, so I just shoved the whole tart in my mouth! I would put a photo up of the egg tart up close and personal, but I ate it….

A few months ago, J decided to buy some egg tarts for his office, and he went at peak time (lunch) to buy them. When I say some, I imagine you’re thinking 5 ot 6 tarts? Nope, he did better than that, he bought 30 egg tarts. I remember J telling me there was a woman standing behind him in the queue and how upset she was that he’d ordered so many tarts, as the man before J had already ordered 15!

Anyway, I readily admit that I’m an egg tart “tart” and I recommend that you go to Tai Cheong straight away if you haven’t been before and enjoy the custart perfection 🙂 Ooohh don’t forget to try some of their other pastries which are also delicious!

Chopstick rating: a lofty 5/5!!!

Tai Cheong Bakery, 32 Lyndhurst Terrace, Central. Tel: 2544 3475. Opening Times: 7am-8pm.

$$$$$$$$$$

Author: chopstixfix

Michelle Ng is a Brit born Chinese-Malaysian who has loved food since time immemorial. She is a firm believer in "Live to Eat, not Eat to Live".

One thought on “Egg tart perfection

  1. Ta…for evoking fond memories of me and family stuffing ourselves on the pavement. x

Leave a Reply

