Musings of a bon vivant in Hong Kong

Hotpot Hoopla

Leave a comment

Before you wonder if I’m insane, I didn’t have hotpot recently, I confess that this particular visit was 2 months ago (told you I have been keeping a record of my past eats). Not that this heat would stop me from eating hotpot, but I would need to be ensconced in a fully air-conditioned room set at 10 degrees.

Hotpot is comfort food for me, nothing feels more primal than happily dunking my own selection of meats, fishballs, seafood in boiling soup and stuffing it all in my face with my own specially concocted sauce. Ah the joys! I have been known to indulge in the 24 hour hotpot at home back in London, which, believe me, is no mean feat and you will feel quite ill after it.

Hotpot Instinct in Causeway Bay is special and is a bit of a well kept secret. It’s tucked away on Tang Lung Street and looks very ordinary from the outside. However, it has a menu boasting over 100 items and a selection of 18 different soup bases including Japanese sake and flower crab, satay and Hami melon amongst others. It also has some interesting ingredients like shrimp cheese balls and prawns with chinese wine in addition to the usual hotpot meat and seafood.

There were 5 of us, but we accidentally ordered enough for about 20 people, so we were eating for about 4 hours until we were the last table standing. I will not comment further but leave you with photos to show how much we enjoyed ourselves. All the meat and seafood were extremely fresh and the sauce selection for your dipping sauce was fantastic, with nothing missing. For those hotpot novices out there, make sure you put a big helping of sesame sauce in your dipping bowl- really makes or breaks the flavour! If you’re a bit more daring, ask for an egg and crack it in raw. When you dip the piping hot meat into the sauce, the egg will cook around it. Last but not least, add noodles at the end of the hotpot when the soup is at its most flavoursome!

Chopstixfix rating: 4/5

Hotpot Instinct, G/F, 52 Tang Lung Street, Causeway Bay. Tel: 2573 2844

$-$$$$$$$$$$

Author: chopstixfix

Michelle Ng is a Brit born Chinese-Malaysian who has loved food since time immemorial. She is a firm believer in "Live to Eat, not Eat to Live".

Leave a Reply

