Musings of a bon vivant in Hong Kong

Car-noodling

2 Comments

And…I’m back!! I know I know, ’tis been a while since my last proper food entry (raptures over Pocky sticks don’t really count) but I confess that I have been consuming food at a much faster rate than I can write. This has been somewhat detrimental to my gut which has been stretched in all directions to accomodate multiple meals in one day. So, to ease back into the fantastic world of blogging, this is going to be a short entry.

Food exploration should be a sport. MZ and I would definitely be gold medalists, and I have muchos respect for MZ for finding this little place in Causeway Bay.

新記車仔麵 or New Records Car Noodles is on the corner of wonderful Tang Lung Street, home to many delicious restaurants and stalls and this small, unassuming “car” noodles shop does a roaring trade at all hours, but is especially popular in the evenings, where the ingredients are fresh due to the high turnover.For $28 you can get a bowl of noodles with a minimum of 3 ingredients of your choice, choosing your soup base – clear or spicy and what type of noodles you want. If you can’t read Chinese, I suggest bringing someone with you who does for the first trip, as the menu is only in Chinese and it’s up to you to circle the ingredients you want. As you know, I am a massive foodie, so naturally I took one of the menus and learnt the entire thing off by heart, and now I can confidently order by circling my ingredients with gusto.That day I ordered pig’s blood (don’t judge, pig’s blood is awesome), which was velvety and rich, beef balls and turnip in a clear broth with vermicelli.  $28 well spent, I’ve never enjoyed a meal under $30 so much. MZ is now completely obsessed with turnips because of this place, for some reason, the turnips are amazingly addictive, or maybe it’s the soup that makes it so delicious. MZ ordered a bowl with pig’s skin, intestines, turnip and other mysterious ingredients in hot soup with vermicelli. Instant noodles at its best, don’t you think?

Chopstixfix Rating: 4/5 (so satisfying for the price)

新記車仔麵, 49 Tang Lung Street, Causeway Bay. Tel: 2573 5438

$$$$$$$$$$

Author: chopstixfix

Michelle Ng is a Brit born Chinese-Malaysian who has loved food since time immemorial. She is a firm believer in "Live to Eat, not Eat to Live".

2 thoughts on “Car-noodling

  1. I should totally bring you to this Wanchai noodle shop which also for like 25hkd has the biggest best bowl of noodles with like 4 toppings in it. *Drool*

  2. Lau nauh…lau nauh…lau nauh!!!

    xxx

Leave a Reply

