Musings of a bon vivant in Hong Kong

Excremental “delights” (don’t poo poo it before you go)

3 Comments

Modern Toilet is now closed.

I’m all for “unique” dining experiences. I’ve eaten at Dans Le Noir, the “blind” restaurant in Clerkenwell, London, where diners eat in pitch darkness and hopefully experience a heightened sense of smell, hearing and taste whilst being robbed of the predominant sense of sight. I found myself stabbing myself in the chin, missing my mouth, poking my friends in the eye and completely ignoring the food as I attempted to throw bread rolls at my friend’s head (don’t think my aim was accurate).

So I was intrigued but also repulsed by the concept of eating out of toilets (not real ones in the lavatory obviously, you sicko!), drinking out of urinals and eating turd shaped icecream at the Modern Toilet Restaurant.The Modern Toilet Restaurant originates from Taiwan, and has, as you may have guessed, a toilet theme. As R and I were ushered to our table, I gazed around in amazement at the bathroom sinks parading as tables, the toilets acting as seats and showers doing their bit as decoration. It was all very surreal. What was more surreal was seeing a display cabinet of toilet paraphenalia and then a gigantic cuddly (if you can cuddle something like this without vomiting) pink turd with flies on it. Hmmmm.I’m not really going to talk about the food. There are a million other more exciting and delicious meals to eat in HK but if you’re up for a laugh and want to sit on a toilet whilst eating a bowl of ramen then this is the place for you.

The menu is nothing special, just ramen and curry sets but the novelty is eating out of mini ceramic squat toilets. There was something quite unsanitary about slurping my kiwi drink out of a bright blue urinal, but I must admit that the presentations of the Japanese pork cutlets and the BBQ pork in milky broth were borderline cute.To end off, R and I shared the “Marten No.2 Strawberry flavour” shaved ice and icecream sundae which was ginormous and for future reference, should probably be shared amongst 4. There was a charming turd shaped chocolate icecream perched atop a wafer and a lot of random sweets hidden in the ice. I hear the Mong Kok branch is better decorated but to be perfectly honest, the novelty wore off mid-way through my pork cutlet meal. But go check it out, sit on the bog and then bog off 😛

Chopstixfix rating: 2/5

4/5 for the novelty and decoration, although I felt like I was in the bathroom section of B&Q the whole time

Modern Toilet Restaurant, 4th Floor Capitol Centre 5-19 Jardines Bazaar, Causeway Bay (above Watson’s, exit F). Tel: 2895 6288

$$$$$$$$$$

Author: chopstixfix

Michelle Ng is a Brit born Chinese-Malaysian who has loved food since time immemorial. She is a firm believer in "Live to Eat, not Eat to Live".

3 thoughts on “Excremental “delights” (don’t poo poo it before you go)

  1. speechless.

    the pictures tell it all! i think i was open mouthed the whole time i was reading this. incredible.

  2. is it closed now? aww so bad.. i want to visit there..

Leave a Reply

