Musings of a bon vivant in Hong Kong

That Megan is hot!

Leave a comment

No boys (and girls 😛 ), I’m not referring to Megan Fox. I haven’t suddenly started being a “GQ/ Esquire” mag writer,  I’m talking of Megan’s Kitchen. I wish I’d discovered this place sooner, not just because of the quality of the food but also because I emerged with very little hotpot stench lingering on my clothes. Prior knowledge would then have saved me the trouble of trying to “air” my coat and clothes after a stinky session immersed in hotpot fumes at all the other places!

I realise that as a Brit, I should, for all intents and purposes, not complain about the paltry 11 degrees Celsius that Hong Kong is at the moment, but, I’m cold. Yes, I’ve assimilated myself wholeheartedly into the Hong Kong way of life, and that includes freaking out about the temperature drop from the mid- 20s down to low double digits and heaven forbid, teetering dangerously close to single digits.

And what better way is there to get warm than trotting off to hotpot?

My friends, Chiaphuati (the hotpot craver that evening) and SJ had both been to Megan’s Kitchen a long time ago, so to refresh their memories and to educate my tastebuds, we decided to have a mammoth feast between the 3 of us.

Megan’s Kitchen is known for its quirky, non-traditional soup bases, including kimchi tofu, tom yum koong cappuccino, tomato and crab soup souffle and Malaysian satay. Being the carnivores we are, we all immediately opted for the oxtail, red wine and tomato soup base.I’m not going to harp on about the hotpot too much, as it really is a DIY meal, but the soup base was literally outstanding. I honestly have never had a soup base better than this one- perfect seasoning, the aroma was delectable and the oxtail taste was rich but not overwhelming.

The platters of meat we ordered were very fresh- lamb, black pork, marbled beef and we had to try the ‘Kraft cheese balls wrapped in juicy minced beef’. Those cheese balls were extremely addictive, and, I might add, PIPING hot. Chiaphuati and I were over-gluttonous and nearly took off half of our palates biting into the cheeseballs without waiting for them to cool down. But hey, it’s all in the name of enjoyment, so I soldiered on through the pain, by downing copious amounts of cold chrysanthemum tea and carried on eating (sucker for punishment!).We also ordered a shedload of veg, fried fish skin (my fav) and instant noodles to finish off and these yummy ‘Fu Chow fish balls’. I’m afraid I have no idea what was inside, but it was delicious.What I appreciated the most in Megan’s Kitchen, was the service, the excellent room temperature control (I kid you not, this is the 1st hotpot place I’ve been to where I’ve NOT been blasted by Arctic air con), the cleanliness and all round pleasant atmosphere. The 3 of us really enjoyed ourselves. Best of all, we hardly smelt at the end of dinner!

Whoever Megan is… she’s ace.

Happy New Year everyone and see you 2011!!!!

Chopstixfix rating: 4/5

Megan’s Kitchen, 5/F, Lucky Centre, 164 – 171 Wanchai Road, Wanchai . Tel: 2866 8305 Opening times: Lunch- 12noon- 3pm, Dinner- 6pm-11.30pm

$$-$$$$$$$$$$

Author: chopstixfix

Michelle Ng is a Brit born Chinese-Malaysian who has loved food since time immemorial. She is a firm believer in "Live to Eat, not Eat to Live".

Leave a Reply

